National Rural Health Association

NRHA's 2017 Rural Health Policy Institute

Government Affairs Committee

Section Links 


NRHA's Government Affairs Committee (GAC) works with the Government Affairs staff to develop the association's legislative agenda. The committee develops and implements strategies to ensure that the association's public policies and government affairs activities are fully addressed and communicated. The GAC includes members from each of NRHA's constituency groups, as well as at-large members, all of whom serve up to three two-year terms.

Please contact Erin Mahn in our Government Affairs Office at or 202-639-0550 with any questions.

Government Affairs Committee Roster

Government Affairs Committee Chair:
Susie Starling
Irvine, K.Y.

Rural Health Congress Chair:
Tim Putnam
Batesville, Ind.

Rural Health Congress Vice Chair:
Gail Nickerson
Roseville, Calif. 

Clinical Services CG:
Raymond Christensen
Duluth, Minn.

Federally Qualified Health Centers CG:
Tim Shryack
Ava, Mo.

Frontier CG:
Susan Wilger
Silver City, N.M.

Health Equity CG:

Hospitals CG:
Jodi Schmidt
Olathe, Kan.

Public Health Status CG:
Mary Katherine Smith
Kirksville, Mo.

Research and Education CG:
Dave Schmitz
Boise, Idaho

Rural Health Clinics CG:
Tommy Barnhart
Silverthorne, Colo.

State Association Council:
Stacy Fontenot
Napoleonville, La.

State Office Council:
John Barnas
East Lansing, Mich.
Statewide Health Resources CG:
Gary Wingrove
Buffalo, Minn.

Student CG:
Julie Middleton
Bozeman, Mont.



At-Large Members:

Brian Bauer
Troy, Mich.

Don Kelso
Terre Haute, Ind.

David Lee
Washington, D.C.

Roger Masse
Ellsworth, Kan.

Pat Schou
Princeton, Ill.

Tim Size
Sauk City, Wisc.

Daryl Weaver
Carthage, Miss.

Kevin Wellen
St. Louis, Mo.

Tim Wolters
Bolivar, Mo.


Website Design and Management by Highpoint Web Design, LLC