National Rural Health Association

2016 Policy Institute

Rural Health Congress

Section Links:


The Rural Health Congress is the policy-making body of the National Rural Health Association. It is made up of elected representatives from each of the association's nine constituency groups, State Association Council, State Office Council, issue groups and officers. This gives the board grassroots representation that reflects the concerns of NRHA's membership. The Rural Health Congress determines the association's positions on public policy through a series of policy briefs and issue papers.

Please contact Erin Mahn in NRHA's Government Affairs office at 202-639-0550 with any questions.

 Rural Health Congress Roster


Rural Health Congress Chair:

Tim Putnam
Batesville, Ind.

Vice Chair:

Gail Nickerson
Roseville, Calif.


Dave Pearson
Austin, Texas


Tommy Barnhart
Silverthorne, Colo.

Past President:

Ray Christensen
Duluth, Minn.


Jodi Schmidt
Parsons, Kan.

President Elect:

Lisa Kilawee
Amherst, Wisc.

Clinical Services CG Chair:                    

Dave Schmitz
Boise, Idaho 


Norma Bowyer
Morgantown, W.Va.

Public Health Status CG Chair:

Michael Meit
Bethesda, Md.

Federally Qualified Health Centers CG Chair:

Tim Shryack
Ava, Mo.

Frontier CG Chair:

Patrick Joseph Branco
Orofino, Idaho

Hospital and Community Health Systems CG Chair:
Susan Starling
Irvine, Ky.


Janelle Ali-Dinar
Lincoln, Neb.

Susan Daniels
Excelsior Springs, Mo.

Pat Schou
Princeton, Ill.

Bryant McNally
Jefferson City, Mo.

James Parrish
Winnemucca, Nev. 

Allen Van Driel
Smith Center, Kan.

Lynn Barr
Nevada City, Calif.

Jeffrey Lingerfelt
Rugby, N.D.

Ralph Llewellyn
Fargo, N.D.






Michael Nester
DeKalb, Miss.

Martin Thornton
Aubrey, Texas

Randy Anderson
Sioux Falls, S.D.

Robin Rose
Gibson City, Ill.

Jan Kemmerer
Beloit, Kan.

Roger Masse
Ellsworth, Kan.

Eric Shell
Portland, Maine.

Kathleen Spencer
Grand Forks, N.D.

Gail Finley
Greenwood Village, Colo.

Roger Wells
St. Paul, NE

Research and Education CG Chair:

John A. Gale
Portland, Maine. 


Kevin Bennett
Columbia, S.C.

Rural Health Clinics CG Chair:

Michelle Mills
Aurora, Colo.

Gail Nickerson
Roseville, Calif.

John Everett
Snyder, Texas 

Statewide Health Resources CG Chair:

Patricia A. Crawford
Lewisburg, W.Va.


Sally Buck
Duluth, Minn.

Kristine Sande
Grand Forks, N.D.

State Association Council Chair's Designee:

Beth O'Connor
Blacksburg, Va.


Don Kelso
Terre Haute, Ind.

John Roberts
Lincoln, Neb.

State Office Council Chair:

John E. Barnas
East Lansing, Mich.

Lawrence Baronner
University Park, Penn.

Past Presidents Council:

Lance Keilers
Lee's Summit, Mo.

Kris Sparks
Olympia, Wash.

Dennis Berens
Lincoln, Neb.

Beth Landon
Albuquerque, N.M.

Sandi Durick
Pierre, S.D.

Multiracial & Multicultural Council Chair:

Eron Manusov
Edinburg, Texas

Student CG Chair:

Julie Middleton
Seattle, Wash.


Cody Mullen
West Lafayette, Ind.

Brayden Healey
Meridian, Ind.

Website Design and Management by Highpoint Web Design, LLC