National Rural Health Association

2015 Policy Institute

Rural Health Congress

Section Links:

Overview

The Rural Health Congress is the policy-making body of the National Rural Health Association. It is made up of elected representatives from each of the association's nine constituency groups, State Association Council, State Office Council, issue groups and officers. This gives the board grassroots representation that reflects the concerns of NRHA's membership. The Rural Health Congress determines the association's positions on public policy through a series of policy briefs and issue papers.

Please contact Erin Mahn in NRHA's Government Affairs office at 202-639-0550 with any questions.

 Rural Health Congress Roster

Officers

Rural Health Congress Chair:

Tommy Barnhart
Silverthorne, CO 
tommy@tenmileenterprises.com

Vice Chair:

Dave Pearson
Austin, TX
dpearson@torchnet.org

 

Treasurer:

Becky Conditt
Lubbock, TX
becky.conditt@ttuhsc.edu

 

Secretary:

Lisa Kilawee
Sioux Falls, SD
lisa.kilawee@avera.org

Past President:

Sandi Durick
Pierre, SD
sandra@durickconsulting.com

 

President:

Ray Christensen
Duluth, MN
rchriste@d.umn.edu

 

President Elect:

Jodi Schmidt
Parsons, KS
jodi@schmidt1.net

 


Clinical Services CG Chair:                    

Dave Schmitz
Boise, ID
dave.schmitz@fmridaho.org

 

Representatives:

Norma Bowyer
Morgantown, WV
bowyer@earthlink.net

 

Public Health CG Chair:

Michael Meit
Bethesda, MD
meit-michael@norc.org

Federally Qualified Health Centers CG Chair:

Scot Graff
Sioux Falls, SD
sgraff88@msn.com

Frontier CG Chair:

Susan Wilger
Silver City, NM
swilger@hmsnm.org



Hospital and Community Health Systems CG Chair:

Susan Starling
Irvine, KY
sstarling@marcumandwallace.org

 

Representatives:

John Everett
Snyder, TX
cmh.jeverett@cogdellhospital.com

Martie Ross
Overland Park, KS
mross@pyapc.com

David Pearson
Austin, TX
dpearson@torchnet.org

Timothy Putnam
Batesville, IN
tim.putnam@mmch.org

Ryan White
Englewood, CO
rwhite@eidebailly.com

Janelle Ali-Dinar
Lincoln, NE
drjalidinar@yahoo.com

Susan Daniels
Lawson, MO
sk.daniels@yahoo.com

Pat Schou
Princeton, IL
pschou@icahn.org

Bryant McNally
Jefferson City, MO
bmcnally@mail.mhanet.com

Roger Wells
St. Paul, NE
rwells@hcmc.us.com

Allen Van Driel
Smith Center, KS
avandriel@smithcohosp.org

Leah Osbahr
Potosi, MO
losbahr@wcmhosp.org

Roger Masse
Ellsworth, KS
ramasse@ewmed.com

Gerald Worrick
Sturgeon Bay, WI
gerald.worrick@ministryhealth.org

Patrick Joseph Branco
Orofino, ID
patrick.branco@smh-cvhc.org

Darrold Bertsch
Hazen, ND
dbertsch@sakmedcenter.org

Kevin Wellen
Saint Louis, MO
kwellen@bkd.com

Eric Shell
Portland, ME
Eshell@Stroudwater.com

Kathleen Spencer
Grand Forks, ND
kathleen.spencer@med.und.edu

Gail Finley
Greenwood Village, CO
gail.finley@cha.com 


Research and Education CG Chair:

John A. Gale
Portland, ME
jgale@usm.maine.edu

 

Representatives:

Kevin Bennett
Columbia, SC
kevin.bennett@sc.edu

April Vestal
Rainelle, WV
avestal@hsc.wvu.edu

Amy Martin
Columbia, SC
brocka@mailbox.sc.edu

Rural Health Clinics CG Chair:

Gail Nickerson
Roseville, CA
gail.nickerson@ah.org

 

Representatives:

Richard Garza
Port Isabel, TX
pimedclinic@yahoo.com

Deborah Holzmark
Asheville, NC
Deborah.Holzmark@dhgllp.com

Michelle Mills
Aurora, CO
mm@coruralhealth.org

Joanie Perkins
Ruleville, MS
Joanie.perkins@northsunflower.com


Statewide Health Resources CG Chair:

Patricia A. Crawford
Lewisburg, WV
pcrawford@osteo.wvsom.edu

 

Representatives:

Jerry Coopey
Seabrook, MD
jcoopey1@verizon.net

Sally Buck
Duluth, MN
sbuck@ruralcenter.org

Charlie Alfero
Silver City, NM
calfero@hmsnm.org

Randy Jacobs
Davenport, IA
rjacobs@taghcm.com

State Association Council Chair's Designee:

Beth O'Connor
Blacksburg, VA
boconnor@vcom.vt.edu

 

Representatives:

Susan Veale
Murfreesboro, TN
susan@rhat.org


State Office Council Chair:

John E. Barnas
East Lansing, MI
barnas@msu.edu

Representatives:
Lawrence Baronner
University Park, PA
ldb10@psu.edu

Past Presidents Council:

Lance Keilers
Lee's Summit, MO
lwkeilers@gmail.com

Kris Sparks
Olympia, WA
kristinasparks@hotmail.com

Dennis Berens
Lincoln, NE
dennis.berens123@gmail.com


Multiracial & Multicultural Council Chair:

Eron Manusov
Edinburg, TX
Manusov@uthscsa.edu

Representative:

Sandra Pope
Charleston, WV 
spope@hsc.wvu.edu

Student CG Chair:

Alex Spencer
Seattle, WA
spencer.alex@gmail.com

Representatives:

Cody Mullen
West Lafayette, IN
cody.mullen@gmail.com

Denise Adame
Bedford, TX
deniseadame06@yahoo.com

Sydney Reuben
St. Louis, MO
sreuben@slu.edu

Brayden Healey
Meridian, ID
bhealey@westernu.edu

Ashley Minaei
Seattle, WA
aaminaei@uw.edu

Website Design and Management by Highpoint Web Design, LLC