National Rural Health Association

2014 Annual Conference

Rural Health Congress

Section Links:

Overview

The Rural Health Congress is the policy-making body of the National Rural Health Association. It is made up of elected representatives from each of the association's nine constituency groups, State Association Council, State Office Council, issue groups and officers. This gives the board grassroots representation that reflects the concerns of NRHA's membership. The Rural Health Congress determines the association's positions on public policy through a series of policy briefs and issue papers.

Please contact Erin Mahn in NRHA's Government Affairs office (emahn@NRHArural.org or 202-639-0550) with any questions.

 Rural Health Congress Roster

Officers

RH Congress Chair:

Tommy Barnhart
Silverthorne, CO 
Tommy.Barhnart@dhgllp.com

 

Vice Chair:

Beth O'Connor
Blacksburg, VA
boconnor@vcom.vt.edu

 

Treasurer:

James Tyler
Pearisburg, VA
jetyler@carilionclinic.org

 

Secretary:

Lisa Kilawee
Sioux Falls, SD
lisa.kilawee@avera.org

Past President:

Kris Sparks
Olympia, WA
kris.sparks@doh.wa.gov

 

President:

Lance Keilers
Ballinger, TX
lancek@bmhd.org

 

President Elect:

Sandi Durick
Pierre, SD
sandra.durick@state.sd.us

 


Clinical CG Chair:

Raymond Christensen
Duluth, MN
rchriste@d.umn.edu

Public Health Status CG Chair:

Michael Meit
Bethesda, MD
meit-michael@norc.org

Community-Operated Practices CG Chair:

Scot Graff
Sioux Falls, SD
sgraff@usd.edu

Diverse Underserved Population CG Chair:

Alice Kirk
College Station, TX
ab-kirk@tamu.edu

Frontier CG Chair:

Charlie Alfero
Lordsburg, NM
calfero@hmsnm.org

Hospitals CG Chair

Jodi Schmidt
Hays, KN
mailto:jschmidt@labettehealth.com

 

Representatives:

John Everett
Snyder, TX
jeverett@cogdellhospital.com

Tom Henton
La Jara, CO
chospital@amigo.net

David Pearson
Austin, TX
dpearson@torchnet.org

Timothy Putnam
Batesville, IN
tim.putnam@mmch.org

Ryan White
Denver, CO
rwhite@eidebailly.com

John Worden
McPherson, KS
johnw@mcphersonmemorial.org

Mark Poppell
Brentwood, TN
mark.poppell@lpnt.net

Pat Schou
Princeton, IL
pschou@icahn.org

Michael Hagen
Aitken, MN
mhagen@riverwoodhealthcare.org

Paul Mathews
Olla, LA
admin@hardtnermedical.com

Larry Carlton
Franklin, TX
larry_carlton@chs.net

Jeff Hill
Salmon, ID
jeff.hill@steelemed.org

Roger Masse
Ellsworth, KS
ramasse@ewmed.com

Gerald Worrick
Sturgeon Bay, WI
gerald.worrick@ministryhealth.org

Patrick Joseph Branco
Ketchikan, AK
pbranco@peacehealth.org

Darrold Bertsch
Hazen, ND
dbertsch@sakmedcenter.org

Kevin Wellen
Saint Louis, MO
kwellen@bkd.com


Research and Education CG Chair:

Michael F. French
Kirksville, MO
mfrench@atsu.edu

 

Representatives:

Kevin Bennett
Columbia, SC
kevin.bennett@sc.edu

Kathleen Spencer
Grand Forks, ND
kathleen.spencer@med.und.edu

Rural Health Clinic CG Chair:

Gail Nickerson
Roseville, CA
NickerGW@ah.org

 

Representatives:

Richard Garza
Port Isabel, TX
pimedclinic@yahoo.com

Deborah Holzmark
Asheville, NC
Deborah.Holzmark@dhgllp.com

Michelle Mills
Aurora, CO
mm@coruralhealth.org

Lois Damron
Hannibal, MO
ldamron@hannibalclinic.com

Joanie Perkins
Ruleville, MS
Joanie.perkins@northsunflower.com

David Olson
Moses Lake, WA
dolson@wvmedical.com


Statewide Health Resources CG Chair:

Lynda Bergsma
Tuscon, AZ
lbergsma@u.arizona.edu

 

Representatives:

Jerry Coopey
Seabrook, MD
jcoopey1@verizon.net

Brad Gibbens
Grand Forks, ND
brad.gibbens@med.und.edu

Janice Wilkins
Stuart, VA
jawilkins2008@yahoo.com

State Association Council Chair's Designee:

Cari Frank
Aurora, CO
cfrank@civhc.org

 

Representatives:

John Roberts
Lincoln, NB
jroberts@mwhc-inc.com

Stacy Young
Napoleonville, LA
fontenot@lrha.org


State Office Council Chair:

Graham Adams
Lexington, SC
adams@scorh.net

Past Presidents Council
Through 2015:

Beth Landon
Raham, NM
beth.landon@live.com

 

Through 2016:

Dennis Berens
Lincoln, NE
dennis.berens123@gmail.com             

 

 


Minority and Multicultural Council Chair:

Sandra Pope
Charleston, WV
spope@hsc.wvu.edu

 

Representative:

Eron Manusov
Foxfire Village, NC 
Eron.Manusov@sr.ahec.org

Student CG Chair:

Jenna Kennedy
Salina, KS
jkennedy2@kumc.edu

 

Representatives:

David Blackley
Johnson City, TN
blackley@goldmail.etsu.edu

Chuck Jantzen
Tulsa, OK
chuck.jantzen@okstate.edu

David Kovach Jr.
Milwaukee, WI
dbkovach@uwm.edu

Elizabeth Wise
Salt Lake City, UT
e.wise@utah.edu

Joseph Benitez
Chicago, IL
jbenit3@uic.edu

Robert Mitchell
romitche@live.unthsc.edu

Website Design and Management by Highpoint, Inc.