National Rural Health Association

2016 Rural Health Clinic and Critical Access Hospital Conferences

Rural Health Congress

Section Links: 

Overview

The Rural Health Congress is the policy-making body of the National Rural Health Association. It is made up of elected representatives from each of the association's nine constituency groups, State Association Council, State Office Council, issue groups and officers. This gives the board grassroots representation that reflects the concerns of NRHA's membership. The Rural Health Congress determines the association's positions on public policy through a series of policy briefs and issue papers.

Please contact Erin Mahn in NRHA's Government Affairs office at 202-639-0550 with any questions.

 Rural Health Congress Roster

Officers

Rural Health Congress Chair:

Tim Putnam
Batesville, Ind.
tim.putnam@mmch.org

Vice Chair:

Gail Nickerson
Roseville, Calif.
gail.nickerson@ah.org

Treasurer:

Dave Pearson
Austin, Texas
dpearson@torchnet.org

Secretary:

Pat Schou
Princeton, Ill.
pschou@icahn.org

Past President:

Jodi Schmidt
Mission, Kan.
jschmidt5@kumc.edu

President:

Lisa Kilawee
Amherst, Wisc.

lisa_kilawee@yahoo.com 

President Elect:
Dave Schmitz
Boise, Idaho
dave.schmitz@fmridaho.org


Clinical Services CG Chair:                    

Roger D. Wells
Saint Paul, Neb.
rwells@hcmc.us.com

Representative:

Norma Bowyer
Morgantown, W.Va.
bowyer@earthlink.net

Public Health Status CG Chair:

Alana Knudson
Bethesda, Md.
knudson-alana@norc.org

Federally Qualified Health Centers CG Chair:

Tim Shryack
Ava, Mo.
tshryack@mo-ozarks.org

Frontier CG Chair:

Patrick Joseph Branco
Rugby, N.D.
ephelps@hamc.com

Hospital and Community Health Systems CG Chair:
Susan Starling
Irvine, Ky.
sstarling@mercy.com

Representatives:

Pat Schou
Princeton, Ill.
pschou@icahn.org 

Allen Van Driel
Smith Center, Kan.
avandriel@smithcohosp.org

Lynn Barr
Nevada City, Calif.
lbarr@nationalruralaco.com

Jeffrey Lingerfelt
Rugby, N.D.
jlingerfelt@hamc.com

Ralph Llewellyn
Fargo, N.D.
rllewellyn@eidebailly.com

Jeremy Levin
Sauk City, Wisc.
jlevin@rwhc.com

Kiley Floyd
Osborne, Kan.
kfloyd@ocmh.net

Martin E. Thornton
Aubrey, Texas
docthornton52@gmail.com

Steve Barnett
Sandusky, Mich.
sbarnett@mckenziehealth.org

Holly Wolff
Waterloo, Iowa
hwolff@neimef.org 

 


Michael Nester
DeKalb, Miss.
michael.nester@rushhealth.com

Randy Anderson
Sioux Falls, S.D.
randy.anderson@sanfordhealth.org

Robin Rose
Gibson City, Ill.
robin_rose@gibsonhospital.org

Jan Kemmerer
Beloit, Kan.
jkemmerer@mchks.com

Roger Masse
Ellsworth, Kan.
ramasse@ewmed.com

Eric Shell
Portland, Maine.
Eshell@Stroudwater.com

Kathleen Spencer
Grand Forks, N.D.
kathleen.spencer@med.und.edu

Roger D. Wells
St. Paul, Neb.

rwells@hcmc.us.com

Jim Peterson
Arroyo Seco,N.M.
jim@headwaterssolutions.com

Gail Finley
Greenwood Village, Colo.
gail.finley@cha.com



Research and Education CG Chair:

John A. Gale
Portland, Maine.
jgale@usm.maine.edu 

Representative:

Kevin Bennett
Columbia, S.C.
kevin.bennett@sc.edu

David A. Gross
Morehead, Ky.
dagross@st-claire.org 

Rural Health Clinics CG Chair:

Michelle Mills
Aurora, Colo.
mm@coruralhealth.org

Representatives:
Gail Nickerson
Roseville, Calif.
gail.nickerson@ah.org

John Everett
Snyder, Texas
cmh.jeverett@cogdellhospital.com 


Statewide Health Resources CG Chair:

Patricia A. Crawford
Lewisburg, W.Va.
pcrawford@osteo.wvsom.edu

Representatives:

Sally Buck
Duluth, Minn.
sbuck@ruralcenter.org

Kristine Sande
Grand Forks, N.D.
kristine.sande@med.und.edu

Sandra Y. Pope
Charleston, W.Va.
spope@hsc.wv.edu

Brad Gibbens
Grand Forks, N.D.
brad.gibbens@med.und.edu 

State Association Council Chair's Designee:

Beth O'Connor
Blacksburg, Va.
boconnor@vcom.vt.edu

Representatives:

Don Kelso
Terre Haute, Ind.
dkelso@indianarha.org


State Office Council Chair:

John E. Barnas
East Lansing, Mich.
John.Barnas@hc.msu.edu

State Office Council Vice Chair:
Larry Baronner
University Park, Penn.
ldb10@psu.edu

Past Presidents Council:

Lance Keilers
Lee's Summit, Mo.
lwkeilers@gmail.com

Kris Sparks
Olympia, Wash.
kristinasparks@hotmail.com

Dennis Berens
Lincoln, Neb.
dennis.berens123@gmail.com

Sandi Durick
Pierre, S.D.
sandra@durickconsulting.com


Multiracial & Multicultural Council Chair:

Eron Manusov
Edinburg, Texas
Manusov@uthscsa.edu

Craig Wesley
New York, N.Y.
craig.wesley@nmss.org 

Student CG Chair:

Julie Middleton
Bozeman, Mt.
jcm45@uw.edu

Representatives:

Brayden Healey
Meridian, Idaho
bhealey@westernu.edu


Policy development

The National Rural Health Association is a member-driven association, meaning our members set the policies and positions we advocate for at a national level. All members of the association are able to participate, and we offer this page to help our members get involved in the process. Below is a chart of policies under developement with opportunities to collaborate, add additional policies or edit as you see fit.

Each of these policies will eventually be reviewed by NRHA's Rural Health Congress at one of its three annual meetings. If the congress adopts a policy, it will be published on our Official Policy Positions page and become an official policy of NRHA. For more information about this process or to better understand how to develop a policy, download our guide to developing policy within NRHA.

Website Design and Management by Highpoint Web Design, LLC