About NRHA

Top 20 Critical Access Hospitals

The National Rural Health Association recognizes the Top 20 Critical Access Hospitals from the list of the Top 100 CAHs as determined by iVantage Health Analytics. The 20 overall winners and 40 best practice recipients (in the quality and patient satisfaction categories) have achieved success based on the Hospital Strength Index. The top 20 critical access hospitals in the country (in all categories) are honored annually on the final day of NRHA's Critical Access Hospital Conference.

View the 2016 Top 20 CAH press release.
Review the criteria used to select Top 20 CAHs.
VIew Top 20 CAH history by state.

2016 Top 20 Critical Access Hospital winners

Aspirus Grand View Hospital - Ironwood, Mich.
Aspirus Medford Hospital & Clinics, Inc. - Medford, Wis.
Bridgton Hospital - Bridgton, Maine
Carrington Health - Carrington, N.D.
Central Montana Medical Center - Lewistown, Mont.
Door County Medical Center – Sturgeon Bay, Wis.
Floyd Valley Healthcare - Le Mars, Iowa
Good Samaritan Health Center - Merrill, Wis.
Livingston Healthcare - Livingston, Mont.
Margaret Mary Health - Batesville, Ind.
Memorial Health Care Systems - Seward, Neb.
Myrtue Medical Center - Harlan, Iowa
Perry County Memorial Hospital - Perryville, Mo.
Providence Mount Carmel Hospital - Colville, Wash.
Sanford Mayville Medical Center - Mayville, N.D.
Sparrow Clinton Hospital - Saint Johns, Mich.
Steele Memorial Medical Center - Salmon, Idaho
Tomah Memorial Hospital - Tomah, Wis.
Transylvania Regional Hospital, Inc. - Brevard, N.C.
Winneshiek Medical Center - Decorah, Iowa

2016 Top 20 Critical Access Hospital Best Practice in
Quality recipients

Ballinger Memorial Hospital - Ballinger, Texas
Bridgton Hospital - Bridgton, Maine
Clarke County Hospital - Osceola, Iowa
Howard County Medical Center - St. Paul, Neb.
Huggins Hospital - Wolfeboro, N.H.
Lawrence Memorial Hospital - Walnut Ridge, Ark.
Mayo Clinic Health System – Springfield - Springfield, Minn.
McDowell ARH Hospital - McDowell, Ky.
Memorial Health Care Systems - Seward, Neb.
Minneola District Hospital #2 - Minneola, Kan.
Mt. Ascutney Hospital - Windsor, Vt.
Olney Hamilton Hospital - Olney, Texas
Paulding County Hospital - Paulding, Ohio
Pike County Memorial Hospital - Louisiana, Mo.
Rumford Hospital - Rumford, Maine
Sparta Community Hospital - Sparta, Ill.
St. Joseph Hospital of Buckhannon - Buckhannon, W.Va.
St. Joseph's Hospital - Highland, Ill.
Washington County Hospital and Clinics - Washington, Iowa
Wayne County Hospital - Monticello, Ky.

2016 Top 20 Critical Access Hospital Best Practice in
Patient Satisfaction recipients

Avera Weskota Memorial Medical Center - Wessington Springs, S.D.
Bigfork Valley Hospital - Bigfork, Minn.
Blue Hill Memorial Hospital - Blue Hill, Maine
Calumet Medical Center - Chilton, Wis.
Catskill Regional Medical Center – G.. Hermann - Callicoon, N.Y.
Clarke County Hospital - Osceola, Iowa
Clifton Fine Hospital - Star Lake, N.Y.
Eureka Community Health Services - Eureka, S.D.
Holton Community Hospital - Holton, Kan.
Lady of the Sea General Hospital - Cut Off, La.
Lost Rivers Medical Center - Arco, Idaho
Lynn County Hospital District - Tahoka, Texas
Mason District Hospital - Havana, Ill.
Mercy Hospital Cassville - Cassville, Mo.
Pawnee County Memorial Hospital - Pawnee City, Neb.
Platte Health Center – CAH - Platte, S.D.
Sanford Tracy Medical Center - Tracy, Minn.
Sanford Westbrook Medical Center - Westbrook, Minn.
Schoolcraft Memorial Hospital - Manistique, Mich.
Washington County Hospital - Chatom, Ala.
Learn more about iVantage's Top 100 CAH and Top 100 Rural Community Hospital honorees.

Read iVantage's press release regarding the Top 100 CAHs and RCHs.

For more information about NRHA’s Top 20 CAH recognition program, contact Donna Douglas.