NRHA Rural Health Congress

The Rural Health Congress is the policy-making body of the National Rural Health Association. Elected representatives from each of the association's constituency groups, State Association Council, State Office Council, issue groups and officers serve on the Congress. This gives broad grassroots representation that reflects the concerns of NRHA's membership. The Rural Health Congress determines the association's positions on public policy through a series of policy briefs and issue papers.

Please contact Erin Zumbrun at NRHA's government affairs office at 202-639-0550 with any questions. 

Rural Health Congress Chair:
Timothy Putnam
Batesville, Ind.
Vice Chair:
Gail Nickerson
Roseville, Calif.
Dave Pearson
Austin, Texas
Pat Schou
Princeton, Ill.
Lisa Kilawee
Amherst, Wis.
President Elect:
David Schmitz
Grand Forks, N.D
Past President:
Jodi Schmidt
Mission, Kan.

Clinical Services CG Chair:               Roger Wells
Saint Paul, Neb.

Federally Qualified Health Centers CG Chair:
Tim Shryack
Ava, Mo.
Frontier CG Chair:
Patrick Joseph Branco
Rugby, N.D.
Health Equity Council Chair:

Hospital and Community Health Systems CG

Susan Starling
Irvine, Ky.
Steve Barnett
Sandusky, Mich.

Lynn Barr
Nevada City, Calif.

Gail Finley
Greenwood Village, Colo.
Kiley Floyd
Osborne, Kan.

Jan Kemmerer
Beloit, Kan.

Jeremy Levin
Sauk City, Wisc.

Jeffrey Lingerfelt
Rugby, N.D.

Ralph Llewellyn
Fargo, N.D.

Roger Masse
Ellsworth, Kan.

Michael Nester
DeKalb, Miss.

Jim Peterson
Arroyo Seco, N.M.

Robin Rose
Gibson City, Ill.

Pat Schou
Princeton, Ill.

Eric Shell
Portland, Maine

Kathleen Spencer
Grand Forks, N.D.

Martin Thornton
Aubrey, Texas

Allen Van Driel
Smith Center, Kan.

Roger Wells
St. Paul, Neb.

Holly Wolff
Waterloo, Iowa

Research and Education CG Chair:
John Gale
Portland, Maine

Kevin Bennett
Columbia, S.C.

David Gross
Morehead, Ky.

Rural Health Clinics CG Chair:
Michelle Mills
Aurora, Colo.

Gail Nickerson
Roseville, Calif.

John Everett
Snyder, Texas


State Association Council Chair:
Beth O'Connor
Blacksburg, Va.

Don Kelso
Terre Haute, Ind.
State Office Council Chair:
John Barnas
East Lansing, Mich.

State Office Council Vice Chair:
Larry Baronner
University Park, Penn.

Statewide Health Resources CG Chair:
Patricia Crawford
Lewisburg, W.Va.

Sally Buck
Duluth, Minn.

Kristine Sande
Grand Forks, N.D.

Sandra Pope
Charleston, W.Va.

Brad Gibbens
Grand Forks, N.D.

Past Presidents Council:
Lance Keilers
Lees Summit, Mo.

Kristina Sparks
Olympia, Wash.

Dennis Berens
Lincoln, Neb.

Sandra Durick
Pierre, S.D.
Public Health Status CG Chair: Alana Knudson
Bethesda, Md.

Student CG Chair:
Julie Middleton
Bozeman, Mt.

Brayden Healey
Meridian, Idaho