NRHA Added to HPSA/MUP Committee!

HHS Secretary Kathleen Sebelius announced today a revised membership list for the Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA) Health Professional Shortage Area (HPSA) and Medically Underserved Areas/Populations (MUA/P) negotiated rulemaking committee. The new list, which has increased from 24 to 28 members, includes National Rural Health Association CEO Alan Morgan as a participant.  Previously excluded from the committee, the NRHA fought to fix this obvious oversight by HRSA.  This effort's success was due in large part to the help of the numerous NRHA members and friends who offered to call and write Dr. Wakefield and their Congressional representatives to ensure broad rural representation on the committee.  For this, we are extremely grateful.  Additionally, the NRHA greatly appreciates Dr. Wakefield and HRSA for their willingness to reassess the committee makeup and their continued commitment to improving health care in rural America. So while the NRHA will now have a seat at the table, we still have much to do to ensure any new HPSA and MUA/P guidelines take the unique needs of rural American patients and providers into account.  This committee's final product will have a huge impact on many rural patients and providers.   Please watch for updates as the committee begins its deliberations. Again, thank you for your diligent efforts to ensure rural representation on this very important committee. Click here for the new committee membership list.

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.

 Security code